Guest Book Entries January 2006 to November 2008

November 21, 2008
I was involved in the Rainbow Country TV series, my character was officer Nixon, also did all flying for series as double for cast member Wally Koster who played the bush pilot. The cast and crew were all based out of Whitefish Falls. Wondering if anyone might have taken any photos behind scenes of any of the episodes, out takes, etc. I would love to be able to see and maybe purchase some. You can contact me at jonsad@aci.on.ca.
Thank you and happy holidays to all.
Regards,
John Sadowski.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
February 28, 2008
Hi, Great website! Do you know any of the history of the bombshelter between the tracks and hwy. 6 in Whitefish Falls? I have visited that site before and cannot find any info about why it was made there. I heard it had to do with Roosevelt’s fishing trips. Thanks

Dan Turnbull
dan_turnbull@hotmail.com
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………
January 21, 2008
It’s a cold January evening in Oakville and I came across the web site while looking for McGregor Bay which holds many memories from my first of many trips to Ferguson’s at the age of 12 in 1960 when I first met Godfrey McGregor to honeymooning there in 1976.
I haven’t been back since and it’s time. Where or from whom could I rent a cottage this year – located somewhere near where Ferguson’s (Silva’s) camp and store was located?
Any ideas gratefully accepted.

Jake Arnold
Jake.arnold@cogeco.ca
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………
January 7, 2008
I am still looking for information about John Dever owner of Tower Hill Cabins at the entrance to Willisville. His common-law wife Mary Peltier lived there after his death in 1950 They had a son Bobby who was born about 1933 and died when he was 5 or 6. I can not find a death record for him or where he was buried. John Dever my grandfather was buried in Little Currrent. My father Andy Dever was John’s son from his first marriage to Mary Richards from somewhere on the island. Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
Barbara Smith
Granddaughter Belleville Ont.
barbcam@sympatico.ca
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
October 30, 2007
Hello

My name is Ernest Willis and I live in Littleborough Lancashire England.

My sister Mavis and I are researching our family history and have traced them back through Hampshire, Dorset, Wiltshire and to Somerset in the 1700’s.

It would be nice to think that your Ernest is some distant relative who has had the good fortune to find such a beautiful place to live and have it named after him.

If we find anything about his ancestors in our researches we will let you know.

Our best wishes to all the Willis clan and all the fortunate residents of Willisville.

Ernest and Mavis Willis
ernie.willis@btinternet.com
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
September 27, 2007
leo burton, ty mad, kerguiniou, 22220 trédarzec, bretagne, france

From 1958 to 1960, I was the teacher in the one-room school. At the time Willisville was a company town,
and the chairman of the school-board was the boss at the quarry;

My two years there were about the happiest two years of my life

It might be of interest to present residents to know what life was like
at that time in Willisville
salleo2@wanadoo.fr
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
I wonder if anyone in Willisville would be able to have access to your local history of the 1920 – 1926 era. Both my parents and grandparents lived there during that period. My grandfather was Robert Alexander Brash and my Father was Robert Earl Brash. My father was a friend of Mr. Lorne Busquet and he knew Angus Holman.
Does anyone there know if what later became known as Brash Island was at one time known as Junk Island?
As you can probably guess, I’m working on our family history.
I would really appreciate hearing from anyone who can help me on this point.
Vern (Brash) Bertram,
e-mail: vbertram@rogers.com
phone: (905) 882-6087
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
August 2007
If anyone has any information about my Grandfather John Dever who owned Tower Hill Cabins on the highway on the opposite side of the entrance to Willisville I would be so happy to hear from you. He lived there with his common-law wife Mary Peltier. They had one son Bobby who died from appendicitis about 1939. I visited him there many times and enjoyed the mountains, the tower and picking blueberries. We slept in the cottage on the mountain below the tower. Many parties were held there and many of his friends and neighbours attended. There was lots of drinking, dancing and playing cards. I enjoyed many summers there and visited Willisville and Whitefish Falls many times. Please e-mail me at barbcam@sympatico.ca if you have any stories or info about him.
Thank you

Barb
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
July 20, 2007
Here is a Kitts family photo taken about 1965 on the ice in front of the Moredolphton dock, facing east toward the channel leading to Whitefish Falls.

In the photo we are clearing snow from the ice in preparation for ice cutting later in the winter. To my memory, ice was cut here in 1964 with a team of horses for the last time. By 1965 we cut ice with an Alpine Skidoo then owned by Dean Eaton, with assistance from my good friend Steamboat (Harry Mitchell) perhaps ‘deaf Mike’ and others whose names I have forgotten.

We left Moredolphton early in 1967 for New Brunswick. I am the boy in the back. The photo is taken by my late father Bob Kitts, who passed away this winter.

I fondly remember my time there and wish the best to everyone.
sincerely,
Jim Kitts
kittsjim@yahoo.ca
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
June 13, 2007
Hello –

Was just looking over your photo gallery of McGregor Bay and would
like to offer pictures from our  spot on the north shore of McGregor
Bay.

My husband’s family, Ed & MaryAnn Streacker, first built the cottage
in 1967 and have been loyally vacationing there every summer (and
even winter!) since.  This Friday, my husband and I and our three
boys will continue the tradition by meeting my in-laws, Ed and
MaryAnn at the cottage for a week.

I would love to be able to contribute to your collection with some of
the beautiful pictures that we will capture of our “end” of the bay
next week.  When we return, we would be more than happy to send you
some photos of winter in the bay as well as some original photos of
Reuben Green’s (our neighbor) legacy in McGregor Bay.
Deb Streacker, daughter-in-law to Ed & MaryAnn Streacker, wife to Jeff
……………………………………………………………………………..
January 20, 2007_
Butler U. E., Charles Lorne October 26, 1925 – January 20, 2007

BUTLER, Charles Lorne, U.E.L. At the Little Current Hospital on Saturday, January 20, 2007 in his 82nd year, Charles Lorne Butler, U.E.L. Born in Brantford on October 26, 1925; son of the late Charles and Victoria Butler. Son-in-law of the late Samuel and Ellen Belshaw. Pre-deceased by his devoted wife of 56 years Mildred (nee Belshaw). Loving father of Jon Charles Butler and his wife Kerry of Willisville and Vicki Ellen Butler of Ancaster. Most loved Grandpa to Loren, Vanessa and Samuel Butler and Samuel Guagliano. Brother to Jean Hooton and her husband Jack, the late Robert Butler and the late Gordon Butler, all of Brantford. Survived by many nieces and nephews. Lorne proudly served for the D.E.M.S. during the Second World War. He was honoured to be a Butler’s Ranger and United Empire Loyalist. After 31 years he retired from Thomson Newspapers and has spent the last 25 years enjoying life. He will be missed terribly and loved always.

 

 


………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
December 12, 2006
My grandfather was Robert Earl Brash. His address was listed as Willisville in 1921. I know that from my Father’s birth certificate. I never knew my grandfather but my research lead me to Willisville in 1997 and I met a Mr. Golden – at least I think that was his name. He told me that he knew my grandfather and that there was an island about 3 miles up the lake (not absolutely sure of the name of the lake) named Brash Island and that my grandfather lived there. He was a stationary engineer and apparently worked in a mine owned by the Bousquet’s and I guess sometimes for a railroad that passed through Willisville. He died in 1944 at the Red Cross Hospital in Espanola. Apparently he was taken there by someone by the name of Kerr (I think). This person was still living after 1997 but apparently was somewhat of a recluse and phone contact was only possible when he turned the power on to his phone. I have an uncle who lived for a time as an infant as did my father on Brash Island. My uncle has talked with both of the elderly Bousquets in Little Current (I understand that the elderly Mr Bousquet died around 2000) as well as this Mr Kerr. The Bousquet’s recalled my father and the breakup of my grandparents’ marriage. From my uncle’s visits, we were able to obtain the only 2 known photographs of my Grandfather, Robert Brash. Neither of the photographs shows my grandfather’s face, at least not directly. As my grandfather and grandmother separated, both my father and uncle never had direct contract with Robert Brash. We would very much like to confirm the existence of Brash Island. I’m told his cabin is still there and I would especially like to find a photograph that showed his face. Looking through your photo gallery is fascinating and leads me to hope that some one out there may actually have a picture with him in it. Oh yes. My father was Kenneth Carmichael Brash. He was adopted by the Lester family when he was 26 after returning home from service in Europe during WW11. His birth mother would never give permission for the adoption so it had to wait for the courts to deal with it. He wanted to legally use the name when he married my mother.

I know that this is a long shot, but I’m hoping if you read this that something might come to mind and you can help’

Regards

Bill Lester

wlester@lesterconstruction.ca

____________________________________________________________________
Hiya

and greetings from sunny England

I’m not sure if you’d be able to help me but I’m tracing my grandfathers family tree and was wondering whether you have a Gordon Chadwick Willis (b approx 1919) or his father Gordon John H. Willis (not sure what the H stands for.)

Gordon was serving with the Royal Canadian Navy in Grimsby UK in 1940

I’d be incredibly grateful for any help

Best wishes

Nigel Deans
nigedeans@btinternet.com
_____________________________________________________________________
October 17, 2006
Hello:

Thank you for bringing back so many memories. Our family Ron and Helen MacNeill with their 3 children Robert, Janet,Margaret lived in Willisville for two years in the late 40’s.

Dad worked for Lawson Quarry and Mom’s claim to fame was being the first women to climb the fire tower.

We moved to Levack but always visited our Willisville families.
Reading your guest book has brought back many names from the past. Myrna Campbell’s family, the Chapmans, Tilson’s, Fry’s, Withers etc…I took friends down the Willisville road in 2005 and was reminded how beautiful the view was and how scary the road still is.

Thanks again for making my day.

Margaret Dumont
Elliot Lake Ontario
dumontjp@sympatico.ca

_______________________________________________________________________________
September 13, 2006
Hello,
Thanks for a great collection of photos.

My dad grew up in Willisville as my grandfather was (I believe) quarry master or superintendent for a few years.

I look at the picture from the 50s of the movie at the school and I swear I see my son in the second row – apparently a Tilston is a Tilston is a Tilston…

Loved the picture of toilet rock from the 70s as it brought back memories of when I was young and visited. I always thought it was amazing that we had my grandfather’s house in Willisville and cottage on the Manitoulin.

Again thanks and if my parents and uncles and aunts (mom maiden name is Gregg and Dad’s sister is a Kerr… so my Willisville heritage comes from many sides) don’t already know about your site they do now.

Cheers,
Gregg Tilston

__________________________________________________________________________
August 25, 2006
Rodgers, Nancy Jane (nee Read) September 5, 1961 – August 21, 2006.

Peacefully in Midland Ontario with family members and friends present and in spirit.

Nancy’s loving spirit lives on through her daughter Kathleen Anne Rodgers and son James Patrick Rodgers.

Nancy is survived by and will be sorely missed by her parents Nancy and Art Read, her sisters Patti, Susan, Mary, her brothers Tom and Chris and all her nieces, nephews, cousins and her life long friend and loving husband of 24 years Patrick John Rodgers.

The immediate family wishes to extend our thanks for their thoughts and support to all of Nancy’s extended family which includes friends from Waubaushene, Midland, Grand Bend, London, Toronto, Mississauga, her co-workers at The Home Depot Orilla, children and staff from Waubaushene Public School, Friends of the Wye Marsh, The OSPCA , Midland Branch and GSW Building Products.

Memorial donations to the Friends of the Wye Marsh or the OSPCA Midland Branch would be appreciated.

____________________________________________________________________________
July 17, 2006
Alena Merial Willis
Do you know anything about this lady’s life history ?

Thank you
W.H.WILLIAMS
violin.doctor@sympatico.ca
___________________________________________________________________________
July 15, 2006
Hi,

I finally found my copy of the “Waiting for the train.” (Willisville Photo Gallery 1920s) My copy
includes all of the woman on the left in the front row but not the
woman in the Middle of the top row. It is labled: Top – Frank A.
Weber, Charley Miller ( from Dayton) , ?, Maybe Charlie Golden; Bottom
row: Aurelia Thenen Weber, Francis Weber, Bob Golden. It also says
“probably just arrived on train.” My Great Aunt seems to have fresh
flowers on her lapel so they could be leaving. Could the woman in the
middle top row be Maude Kinsmen? They stayed at her camp early on.

There is also a picture from the 30’s at the station. I can tell that
my great Grandfather Frank A. Weber is in the center with the straw
hat. I’m afraid the grumpy looking one in dark coat ( 2nd from right)
and the ugly hat is my Great Grandmother Aurelia Thenen Weber. Since
they are there, It is likely that my Great Aunt Francis is in there
too. I suspect the she is hatted woman in the back left( 3rd in) but
the picture is not that clear. If they were travelling together the
dark suited man might be Charlie Miller, as he often came to camp with
my great grandfather.

Hope this helps some. If I find the rest of the pictures I’ll scan
them and send them.

Bonnie Wheeler

____________________________________________________________________________
July 3, 2006
I once purchased a blueberry butter at a festival near Portland, Maine. Was very similar to apple butter in consistency. Have you seen such a recipe that you could share?
Audrey Berman Kestner
abkestner@hotmail.com
____________________________________________________________________________

June 20, 2006
Hello, I stumbled upon this site on hopes of looking for the place where i used to visit during summer with my grandparents and family.

My name is Andy Jennings I’m 19. My grandparents were Tom and Doris Brown. They recently sold their island up there and it was full of priceless memories. I made a lot of friends too. The last time I visited was 2 years ago.
pity4thepious@zoominternet.net

__________________________________________________________________________
May 22, 2006
Hello,

Oh does this bring back memories! I have found some old friends that I never
thought I would hear from again all from your site.

I spent every summer up there from the time i was one till I was 16. Now I get
up there maybe once every 2 years or so. And you can bet I miss it! Most of you
remember me as Norma and Sam Starbuck’s granddaughter, Lori.

I have fond memories of playing with the kids of Willisville, learning to swim
with them from Lisa, playing in the old school house and just running around the
town.

I would love to hear from all of my “old” friends, so feel free to drop me a
line and maybe we can have a mini reunion when I come up this summer….

Lori Bradley
lbradley24@nc.rr.com
Raleigh, NC (via Columbus, Ohio)

________________________________________________________________________________
May 17, 2006

My family lived in Willisville for many years when I was a child. I have two
siblings Tammy and Megan. It was the greatest time in our lives and wish to
raise a family in a small spot like this eventually. I made some great friends
living here and just wanted to say Hello.
Terri Humphreys
zoeii123@hotmail.com
_________________________________________________________________________________
April 30, 2006
I used to own some property on Charlton lake that I inherited from my
grandparents – Ralph and Helen Clark.
We were aquainted with Emerson Lloyd and stopped by every now and then. I
remember watching him paint, although he did not seem to want company when he
was working on anything too “elaborate.” My dad and I got to talking about him
the other day and I decided to see if there was anything on the internet
pertaining to him. I was a bit disappointed to find not a single scan of his
artwork on the internet – not even the smallest of files. Nor does there seem to
be anything about him personally; not even upon finding the La Cloche art show
page. Granted, that most of his work is probably scattered and privately owned,
but you must know someone who owns one of Lloyd’s more elaborate wildlife
watercolors that you could post – or are there copyright issues?.

Dave Conklin
Sunbury, Ohio
________________________________________________________________________________
April 24, 2006
Ended up on your website and have to thank you for “Making My Day”.
I did not know that there was a lake named after me 🙂 until I saw your
pictures of Nellie Lake.
Well, you can tell by my email address my first name is Nellie and was looking
for a flower named Nellie and ended up with a lake instead.

Thank you
________________________________________________________________________________
April 21, 2006
Does anyone remember my grandfather John Dever who owned Tower hill Cabins? He
lived there for quite a few years until he died in !950 Any info would be great.

Thank you Barbara Smith
barbcam@sympatico.ca
________________________________________________________________________________
April 11, 2006
I AM TOM KHOURY NOW TURNING 60 .MY FATHER BROTHER AND I WENT FISHING
THERE (Moredolphton Lodge) 50 YEARS AGO AND FOUND AN OLD BROCHURE FROM THAT LODGE WHAT MEMORIES. SHORE LUNCHES SAW MY FIRST SNAKE SWIMMING IN THE LAKE
SCARED THE HELL OUT OF ME. I DO REMEMBER THE BLUE BERRY PIES AND THE
BIG FISH COOK OUT FRIDAY NIGHTS. ALL MY FAMILY HAS PASSED ON NOW BUT OH
HOW I LOVED THAT LODGE GOD BLESS !
tkhoury@actionmachinery.com

_________________________________________________________________________________
March 27, 2006
We bought our cottage in 1971 along the mainland on the “other side of the
hill” at Birch Island….Our names are Joe and Norma Book from Albany, Ind. We
bought from Alex and Doris Brown of Little Current. Eddie and Doe Dennis had
the red cottage just west of us and the Jone’s had the cottage that had been the
president of the railroad along that edge….We spend 20 yrs there. Before
that we came up and went out to Granma Magoons island in Mcgregor Bay…
I always said I was going to write a book about our time up there….Joe had
been going there for 20 yrs before he met me…I loved the area and the people
and insisted on having a cottage of our own….
If you need some history of that area let me know and will try to remind you
of some of the people that we remember….I have some pictures that will send
with a friend from Willisville…….
So wonderful to see this web site……..Bgardenlady@cs.com aka Norma
Book

_________________________________________________________________
February 15, 2006
I visited Willisville in 1948 when i was holidaying at my Grandfather’s home
Tower Hill Cabins. His name was john Dever We climbed the mountain and the
tower. I remember being very scared but made it to the top. My dad john Andrew
Dever lived in Little Current for many years. later moving to Little current
and then Sudbury. We climbed all over picking blueberries to have fresh pie.
Mary was my grandfather’s commom-law wife.They had a son Bobby but he died at
age 12 around 1943or 45. When I saw your website on the internet it brought back
many happy memories. If anyone there would have any info on my grandparents I
would like to know.
Thank you Barbara
barbcam@sympatico.ca
__________________________________________________________________
February 5, 2006
Hi:

This is not a recipe but rather a story about a blueberry pie incident that
occurred in Willisville in the summer of 1986.

In the summer of 1986 my wife Nancy and her good friend Irena were pregnant
right at the peak of blueberry season. One July day Nancy and Irena hiked
behind Willisville and picked enough blue berries and raspberries for an
extremely large deep dish blueberry/raspberry pie.

When I came home from work, (horse logging in Red Deer village), I entered the
house and smelt the pie. I asked Nancy how her day went and she recounted how
she and Irena went blueberry picking and then baked a pie. Looking forward to a
slice of fresh pie I asked if I could have some before dinner.

Nancy calmly looked me in the eye and said no. Reason for saying no is that she
and Irena had eaten the entire pie!!! Not a crumb was left for me or Irena’s
husband Paul.

Given that Nancy is 5’2″ and Irena was maybe 5′ 3″ I was amazed that they could
have eaten the entire pie, but since they were both pregnant I thought better
than to complain about not getting any pie for myself!!

Take care and thanks again for the website.

Pat and Nancy Rodgers
Waubaushene ON

_________________________________________________________
January 2006
Hello there,

I have found your web site on Webbwood CPR history and was wondering
if you have come across a railway accident around 1904 or 1905. My
grandfather’s name was David James Graham (approx age 22 + yrs) and
apparently worked as a brakeman for the CPR in Hallam or somewhere around
there. He was married at the time with a small child approx (2 yrs old)
and another one on the way. His wife’s name was Catherine Stewart from
Webbwood. The child (the one-on-the-way) was my father and he never
knew his father. We don’t know if it’s true he died as a result of a
CPR accident and we would be most interested to find out. We would like
to know as much as possible about him. When and were he died, how etc.
I’m doing a family history and my father’s side is pretty bare.

My father was bone Feb 9, 1905 in Webbwood. His father’s name was
David James Graham and was supposed to have died just before my father
was born, making the date of his death around 1904, 1905. Rumor has it
that he was from the Carleton area, but we are not sure. He had two
spinster sisters. One I believe was Ellen Graham. There must be
something in the newspapers at the time of the accident. My grandmother
Catherine Stewart remarried a few years later to Joe Morgan another
railroader and they resided in North Bay.

My father has since deceased and never got to know the truth, but I
really want to know. Grandmother was very secretive about the history
and we don’t know why.

If you could help us I would appreciate it.

Thanks so much,

Jane McPhee
jmcphee@lara.on.ca
________________________________________________________________
January 2006
Hi there,
My name is Tom Desjardins…….my family had a cabin on Charlton Lake for many
years and I worked in the camps as a kid….Widgawa Lodge……Kerrs…….and I
guided fishermen too………it’s great to see a lot of old familiar names that
have come up as a result of your page….in fact there are some people I would
love to hear from again……I will look at the site again when I have some more
time……I now live in Summerland B.C. and I welcome any e-mails from old
friends and acquaintances…..I also used to live in Willisville in the first
house on the left at the bottom of the hill…..my sister lived there
too…..nice to see the old place ..if only in pictures………we sure had a
lot of fun growing up there

tommyd112@hotmail.com

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

